Young Winemaker of the Year finalist

Assistant Winemaker Philip Theron

Diner’s Club Young Winemaker of the Year


We are beyond excited to share the news that assistant winemaker, Phillip Theron, has been selected as a finalist in the 2018 Diner’s Club Young Winemaker of the Year Competition

The Young Winemaker of the Year award was established to encourage winemakers under the age of 30 to develop their skills, express their individuality, and add to the future prestige of South African wines internationally. The Winemaker awards, now in its 38th year, and Young Winemaker in its 18th year, focusing on quality and recognition of excellence, are regarded as the country’s most prestigious and well-respected wine industry competition.

Phillip started at Glen Carlou at the end of 2016 and has since been an indispensable asset to the Glen Carlou team, working closely with Winemaker Johnnie Calitz. He was nominated for this prestigious award for his significant contribution in the making of the 2017 Glen Carlou Merlot and the 2017 Glen Carlou Collection Malbec.

The 2017 Merlot has already been awarded a Veritas Gold, Ultra Wine Competition Gold and International Wine and Spirits Competition Silver. This wine was also named Top Merlot in Paarl at the 2018 Novare Terroir Awards. The highly anticipated 2017 Glen Carlou Collection Malbec will be launched early in December – this rich, decadent and smooth wine was also awarded Veritas Gold as well as 4 stars in the 2019 Platter’s Wine Guide. Both exceptional wines made with the utmost care and consideration and are beautiful expressions of the respective varietals.

The winners of both the Winemaker and the Young Winemaker of the Year awards will be presented at a black-tie gala dinner at La Residence Hotel in Franschhoek on 24 November 2017. The winning winemaker receives R50 000 and the Young Winemaker R25 000. Both winemakers also receive two return air tickets on Delta Airlines to any wine producing region in the USA.

The 2018 Young Winemaker of the Year category was Red wines and/or red blends and the finalists included:

Philip Theron – Glen Carlou – 2017 Merlot and 2017 Glen Carlou Collection Malbec

Bobby Wallace – Iona Vineyards – 2017 Pinot Noir

Juandré Bruwer – Diemersdal Estate – 2017 Shiraz

Philip Viljoen – Bon Courage Estate – 2015 Inkara Cabernet Sauvignon

Rudger Van Wyk – Stark-Condé Wines – 2016 Stellenbosch Syrah



Scroll to Top